What’s the trick with these things?

Discussion in 'suburban75' started by 5t3IIa, Feb 4, 2018.

1. 5t3IIa

5t3IIa Registered User

Silicone egg poaching doo-dahs?

[​IMG]

My eggs stuck and I had to use a butter knife to get the eggs out then needed two scrubbing implements to get the egg bits of egg white out.

I just put eggs in them then floated them in boiling water. What am I doing wrong? With my eggs?

ska invita likes this.
  2. S☼I

S☼I knismesis & volubility

You're not frying them, that's the trouble

3. S☼I

S☼I knismesis & volubility

I'm no expert on poached eggs but I thought you just put them in vinegary water you boil and as soon as you add them, turn the heat off and keep swirling around the water until they coalesce into poached eggs. Not sure what these plastic efforts are for.

Pickman's model likes this.
  4. maomao

maomao 四月她爹

They're shit. I've never managed to make mine work. Just fry them .In butter.

Badgers likes this.
  5. PippinTook

PippinTook Well-Known Member

You might need to oil or butter the insides before you put the egg in.

6. 5t3IIa

5t3IIa Registered User

Might I? Is that the trick?

PippinTook likes this.
  7. moomoo

moomoo Not so yummy mummy

You’re not alone Stella, I have the same problem with them.

Badgers, Pickman's model and 5t3IIa like this.
  8. Callie

Callie Pivoting

Fuck em off and just perfect the direct into water method. I try to follow Delia Smith's instructions and it mostly works

9. Celyn

Celyn Well-Known Member