The Virtues: Shane Meadows

Discussion in 'books, films, TV, radio & writing' started by D'wards, May 15, 2019 at 8:36 PM.

1. D'wards

D'wards I'm an excellent driver

This looks ace. Shane Meadows is my favourite director- he gets the English working classes in a way a dozen Mike Leigh's or Ken Loach's never could (as great as they are)

Apart from Once Upon a Time in the Midlands everything he's done has been superb. This Is England series is some of the best television we've ever produced, particularly TIE 88.

Plus Stephen Graham is going from strength to strength.

Starts tonight 15 may at 9pm on channel 4

Miss-Shelf, Mr.Bishie, Shirl and 6 others like this.
  2. Sprocket.

Sprocket. Fishing in the River of Life....

Excellent work in the past. I will be watching this.

Grace Johnson and D'wards like this.
  3. Sprocket.

Sprocket. Fishing in the River of Life....

Stephen Graham is becoming a very believable character actor.

I mentioned on the Line of Duty thread. About This is England,
    His scene as Combo when Lol visits him in prison is one of the most heart rending things I have ever watched.

Miss-Shelf, Nikkormat, Shirl and 3 others like this.
  4. neonwilderness

neonwilderness What would Badgers do?

I’ve been looking forward to it. I always like the way he manages to mix really dark stuff with bits of comedy.

Once Upon A Time In The Midlands isn’t quite in the same league, but I still like it :D

Agree about Stephen Graham. Those bits with Combo/Lol in TIE were amazing tv. Not quite the same, but he’s worth watching in Boardwalk Empire too.

5. Edie

Edie Well-Known Member

Agree about Shane Meadows. I hate Ken Loach. That I Daniel Blake was fucking sentimental bollocks. Embarrassment. Made me angry. Meadows gets it, and This is England was superb. I’ll look forward to this.

6. D'wards

That was grim but brilliant. Throughly enjoyed it, if that's the right sentiment.

Stephen Graham is fantastic in the role

7. D'wards