1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

southend

Discussion in 'London and the South East' started by ed marimba, Feb 24, 2017.

1. ed marimba

ed marimba Well-Known Member

i have move somewhere. but where? just spent 2 years in manchester and was very disappointed.
    i think i would need a town or city with good rail link to london. or maybe in london if there is anywhere not vastly expensive
    i have heard southend is nor bad these day i am a musician and enjoyed a gig there last year at railway hotel.
    i'd like to meet people who have a good time but are not flakey
    i am also artist and heard southend gets lots of arts council grants but i dunno if i'm very keen onall the rules that go with all that.

2. NoXion

NoXion Give me space communism or give me death

I have a sister who lives in Southend with her partner and my little nephew. Partner definitely doesn't think too highly of the place judging by the amount of times he's slagged it off. Sister seems to have a milder opinion but doesn't strike me as being wildly keen about it either.

I can only speak as someone who's visited the place, but if you like the seaside and having a wide variety of restaurants and takeaways then Southend is a good place to be. It's also a lot less stuck-up than Brighton.

ed marimba likes this.
  3. ed marimba

Thank you. The reputation used to be for it being very "chavvy" if that term still means anything. But I was under the impression that it had become more interesting in the last few years. It could be that your sister and her husband with a young child are looking for different things but I obviously don't want to feel unsafe on the streets there or bored because of lack of activiy in my spheres of music and art
    cheers again :)

4. NoXion

Partner, not husband. My sister is living in sin. :p