SCUBA diving

Discussion in 'general sports' started by Mrs Miggins, Jan 27, 2017.

1. Mrs Miggins

Mrs Miggins Well-Known Member

Yes there are other threads but i want to start a new one.

I started learning to dive before I left the UK on my travels. My first impression based on the initial pool dives was a serious meh but once qualified and diving in open water - by god it's one of the best decisions I ever made.

I've dived in some awesome places in the last year - the Great Barrier Reef and the Komodo National Park - and today, I did my first dive in coldish water (16C) in the Marlborough Sounds in New Zealand.

But my reason for starting this thread is to ask for advice. I am fucking terrible at the initial descent. My body goes into panic mode even though my head tells me I've done it before and it's fine. I just can't seem to stop my body going into panic mode at the surface and it's starting to piss me off.

Advice??

gentlegreen, A380 and Pickman's model like this.
  2. treefrog

treefrog Tauiwi

Eeek, no advice Mrs M but Balbi had a similar problem when he did his OW. Would visualization/mindfulness help I wonder?

3. spanglechick

spanglechick High Empress of Dressing Up

Paging divemaster Kanda

4. t0bytoo

t0bytoo Well-Known Member

I'm assuming here that you are diving off boats with a group of people and some sort of divemaster or guide. It's easy to feel rushed when there are other people around, and a guide telling you what to do and when to do it.

My tips:
    - Get really familiar with your kit. If you make a regular habit of diving, you'll want to have your own stuff. Rental equipment always adds a little layer of stress: fin straps need adjusting, weight belt might be a different length, the suit my be tighter or looser round the neck, the regulator will breathe a little different, etc. When you can just throw on your kit without thinking about it, it's a lot more relaxing.