Discussion in 'World Cup 2014 Brazil' started by Badgers, Jul 8, 2014.
Wonder how much interest Aston Villa will get for Ron Vlaar now?
After the Dutch keeper's antics during the QF shoot-out, this feels like poetic justice tbh. Fuck him.
Holland's first penalty was in!
Bloody hell so it was .. That should have counted
Didn't cross the line
It touched the guy's shoulder apparently meaning it shouldn't have counted. Just an interesting vid.
Shame that video didn't start 1 second earlier. Would've liked to have seen if it did touch his shoulder.
he seems to have just ducked it
The ball is dead in a shoot out when the referee rules it to be so, usually when a goal cannot be scored from the initial momentum imparted by the taker.
In the France v Brazil quarter final shoot out in 1986, Bruno Bellone's penalty was scored after it struck the bar and rebounded in off Carlos' back. Bit controversial and certainly wouldn't have been given by some refs (in Italy in particular I believe)
In this instance it didn't cross the line anyway
This is the FIFA ruling:
"A kick is successful if, having been touched once by the kicker, the ball crosses the goal line between the goal posts and under the crossbar, without touching any player, official, or outside agent other than the defending goalkeeper.
The ball may touch the goalkeeper, goal posts, or crossbar any number of times before going into the goal as long as the referee believes the ball’s motion is the result of the initial kick."
So it would have counted if it had crossed the line.
We need hot spot and snicko, from another angle it looks like he touched it.
Only if the referee said so
Not really, the ball's motion was because the keeper had hit it rather than from the initial kick.
I really don't get what all this interwebs bullshit about the pen is about. The whole of the ball has to cross the whole of the line. It didn't. Everything else is irrelevant.
Stupid interwebs wank.
not so, it was in motion because the kicker kicker it, the goalies action only came from that, so it would still have been the initial kick. if it had crossed the line. which it didn't
And that's the grey area. If it deflects straight in off the keeper, it's a goal. If something odd happens like this then it's reasonable to ask whether the goalie's intervention overrides the initial kick.
But it didn't go "in".
Yeah, I said
It didn't cross the line anyway
And the result of the goalie's "action" overrides the result of the initial kick
Separate names with a comma.