Netherlands v Argentina (Semi Final) Wednesday 9th July 2014

Discussion in 'World Cup 2014 Brazil' started by Badgers, Jul 8, 2014.

  1. Badgers

    Badgers Mr Big Shrimp!

    Wonder how much interest Aston Villa will get for Ron Vlaar now?
     
    sealion likes this.
  2. T & P

    T & P |-o-| (-o-) |-o-|

    After the Dutch keeper's antics during the QF shoot-out, this feels like poetic justice tbh. Fuck him.
     
    imposs1904 likes this.
  3. Favelado

    Favelado Half to the Tower, please.

    Holland's first penalty was in!

     
  4. juice_terry

    juice_terry Here is a man who would not take it anymore.

    Bloody hell so it was .. That should have counted
     
  5. strung out

    strung out (",)

    Didn't cross the line
     
  6. Favelado

    Favelado Half to the Tower, please.

    It touched the guy's shoulder apparently meaning it shouldn't have counted. Just an interesting vid.
     
  7. pocketscience

    pocketscience Well-Known Member

    Fez909 likes this.
  8. Fez909

    Fez909 toilet expert

    Shame that video didn't start 1 second earlier. Would've liked to have seen if it did touch his shoulder.
     
  9. belboid

    belboid TUC Off Your Knees

    he seems to have just ducked it

     
  10. JTG

    JTG Angry about not being able to be an astronaut.

    The ball is dead in a shoot out when the referee rules it to be so, usually when a goal cannot be scored from the initial momentum imparted by the taker.
    In the France v Brazil quarter final shoot out in 1986, Bruno Bellone's penalty was scored after it struck the bar and rebounded in off Carlos' back. Bit controversial and certainly wouldn't have been given by some refs (in Italy in particular I believe)
    In this instance it didn't cross the line anyway
     
  11. strung out

    strung out (",)

    This is the FIFA ruling:

    "A kick is successful if, having been touched once by the kicker, the ball crosses the goal line between the goal posts and under the crossbar, without touching any player, official, or outside agent other than the defending goalkeeper.

    The ball may touch the goalkeeper, goal posts, or crossbar any number of times before going into the goal as long as the referee believes the ball’s motion is the result of the initial kick."

    So it would have counted if it had crossed the line.
     
  12. Zapp Brannigan

    Zapp Brannigan Built like a steakhouse, handles like a bistro

    We need hot spot and snicko, from another angle it looks like he touched it.
     
  13. JTG

    JTG Angry about not being able to be an astronaut.

    Only if the referee said so ;)
     
  14. smmudge

    smmudge Sissy that walk!

    Not really, the ball's motion was because the keeper had hit it rather than from the initial kick.
     
  15. Corax

    Corax Luke 5:16

    I really don't get what all this interwebs bullshit about the pen is about. The whole of the ball has to cross the whole of the line. It didn't. Everything else is irrelevant.

    Stupid interwebs wank.
     
  16. belboid

    belboid TUC Off Your Knees

    not so, it was in motion because the kicker kicker it, the goalies action only came from that, so it would still have been the initial kick. if it had crossed the line. which it didn't
     
  17. JTG

    JTG Angry about not being able to be an astronaut.

    And that's the grey area. If it deflects straight in off the keeper, it's a goal. If something odd happens like this then it's reasonable to ask whether the goalie's intervention overrides the initial kick.
     
  18. Corax

    Corax Luke 5:16

    But it didn't go "in".
     
  19. JTG

    JTG Angry about not being able to be an astronaut.

    Yeah, I said
     
  20. Badgers

    Badgers Mr Big Shrimp!

    It didn't cross the line anyway
     
    sealion likes this.
  21. smmudge

    smmudge Sissy that walk!

    And the result of the goalie's "action" overrides the result of the initial kick :thumbs:
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice