1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

London Quirky Animal Statues

Discussion in 'London and the South East' started by LukeA, Jan 10, 2017.

1. LukeA

LukeA New Member

First post so please let me know if I’ve done anything incorrectly

I’m a London based photographer and have been taking pictures all over London for a recent project of mine called tubemapper.com. The project showcases my work by nearest tube line or station, and invtes people to explore photography I have captured locally.

During the project I have been discovering interesting infamous local London landmarks like the Tardis at earl’s Court and Platform 9 and ¾ at Kings Cross. Of these my favourites are the Catford Cat and the Elephant and Castle.

Can anyone here think of any other animal based London Landmarks? The only one left I can think of are the Crystal Palace Dinosaurs, but surely there must be more?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

This was temporarily at Westminster
    [​IMG]

2. Artaxerxes

Artaxerxes Well-Known Member

There are wire lions outside the Tower of London (near the gates) and a wire elephant on the escalators down to the Jubilee line at Waterloo.

Theres also the grave of Giro at the base of the Duke of Yorks column in Picadilly.

3. Bahnhof Strasse

Bahnhof Strasse Spunky Slug

A bull in King St Hammersmith, Penguin in LSE Aldwych and the animals in war memorial thing in Park Lane spring to mind.

4. ash

ash Inittogether

Dr Johnsons cat outside his house and Dr Salters cat in Bermondsey - there's a lovely story attached to that one:

Dr. Salter's Daydream

Thames Wall, Bermondsey Wall East, London.
    Commissioned by London Docklands
    New version commissioned by Southwark Council and the campaign group.