Learning to code/changing career

Discussion in 'computers, web and general tech' started by Threshers_Flail, Nov 8, 2018.

1. Threshers_Flail

Threshers_Flail Well-Known Member

Speaking to a mate of a mate last weekend who told me how he went from being an unemployed philosophy graduate to getting into software development and it sounded doable. I hate my current job: it's insecure, lowly paid and there's no opportunity for advancement.

Any software developers on here with any advice on how to get into it? I've just signed up for an account with freeCodeCamp, any other places I should be checking out? Obviously this is all very new and somewhat overwhelming.

Cheers.

Last edited: Nov 8, 2018
    stuff_it, maomao and Badgers like this.
  2. mauvais

mauvais change has become unavoidable

I'm a professional software engineer.

What do you want to achieve? What are you able to commit to it? Why do you think you'd be a good developer?

3. TruXta

TruXta tired

Coding does not equal software development.

Badgers and a_chap like this.
  4. mauvais

I'm not sure what point you're making. Being able to write code certainly doesn't make you a software engineer. But there are lots of people being paid to write software, called developers, that are more coders than engineers.

5. TruXta

TruXta tired

Just that OP seemed to equate the two, when that's a limiting way to look options. You can code all sorts, doesn't have to be software that you're making.

Badgers likes this.
  6. a_chap

a_chap When the world came apart, where were you?

Badgers and Threshers_Flail like this.
  7. girasol

girasol Ubuntu

Not sure you can get any jobs coding in Basic? My first language was Pascal (at university) - then Java. Been out of the industry for a couple of years, but Java and C++ probably still widely used? I also used Javascript A LOT, Perl and SQL.

Just to give you an idea of what's out there in terms of languages

List of programming languages - Wikipedia