Question Initiative Q

Discussion in 'computers, web and general tech' started by girasol, Oct 24, 2018.

1. girasol

girasol Ubuntu

Has anyone else received an invite to join Initiative Q? I received one yesterday and I thought it was intriguing, but really I have very little knowledge of how this could work. I don't even see how it could work, but then again I missed a good opportunity with Bitcoin :/

Reading this I'm baffled, maybe people in the know can clarify?
    Initiative Q

My current task is "Invite people you know personally and secure an additional 51,602"

So, a pyramid scheme? (this isn't spam, I'm genuinely wondering if this is worth doing)

2. editor

editor Taffus Maximus

The FT seems to think it's a pyramid scheme:

https://ftalphaville.ft.com/2018/10...Ki3fKynppgmpPmsLnd0xOvxhaaVUIUgHjhEOGeF9nzHZY

girasol likes this.
  3. dervish

dervish if you flibble when you wibble, don't wobble

I've got an invite link here if anyone wants a go, all it wants from you at the moment is you name and email.

4. Everyone is on about it, which means it’s probably at the bottom of the pyramid.

girasol likes this.
  5. ricbake

ricbake working out how

When ever you hear about a pyramid scheme you will be at the bottom of it.
    +
    +++
    +++++

girasol and Magnus McGinty like this.
  6. Yes, of course, but I mean you won’t be the one getting the riches.

7. Fez909

Fez909 toilet expert

No one is getting any riches. Where are the riches coming from?

Imagine the day they're launched:

Millions of people all get thousands of $1-worth tokens from InitQ. They go to the shop to spend them, and the shopkeep says, "I don't accept Q tokens as I need to pay my bills in pounds - who will I exchange the Q tokens with to get £s?"

What is your answer?

8. So why are everyone signing up for it like lemmings then unless they believe they’ll earn some coin out of it?
    (The bumpf mentioned $110,000 iirc which I’m sure someone might get but not these late adopters)