How much do you need to spend for a used automatic hatchback that just needs to work?

Discussion in 'transport' started by George & Bill, Aug 10, 2018.

1. George & Bill

George & Bill semiotically superfluous

Pretty much as it says – it needs to be auto so my stepdad can drive it with his sometimes-gammy left foot.

I'm a new driver and have no idea about any of this, so thanks for any and all thoughts :)

Edit to add a bit more info: This would be a car for occasional spins out of London, and maybe a few long drives down onto the continent each year. But most of its days it would spend idle.

2. dessiato

dessiato Mele Kalikimaka hauʻoli hou makahiki

That's very much a how long's a piece of string question. What's your budget? What size do you need? How many doors do you want?/need?

3. Teaboy

Teaboy It definitely looks brighter over there..

All cars work until they suddenly don't.

Poi E, Bahnhof Strasse and dessiato like this.
  4. dessiato

5. ricbake

ricbake working out how

6. hash tag

hash tag Pedicabo omnes

In return for a (unspecified) donation to charity, Mrs tag gave her 20 year old micra away for nowt. A good, reliable Runner. Not even an advisory on the mots and started first time every time.

SpookyFrank likes this.
  7. George & Bill

Absolutely no specific requirements beyond the fact that it goes and can be reasonably relied on to probably continue doing so for some time to come.

8. mojo pixy

mojo pixy unquantifiable hazards

£500-£1500 depending on condition, mileage and likelihood of passing next MOT. Recommended makes for price - Fords (Focus is always good value), Vauxhall (don't like 'em but there are loads around so plenty do), Renault, Citroen (personally for me Citroen over Renault because they look nicer, though the old Megane gets an honourable mention from me for its look). Also you can still pick up a 1990s Toyota for way less than a grand, and they go on and on and on.

Get on to Autotrader, that site is the greatest.