1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting started in Liverpool

Discussion in 'Midlands and the North' started by ed marimba, Nov 22, 2017.

1. ed marimba

ed marimba Well-Known Member

Recently moved to Liverpool. After a horrific year I figured a new start was the best idea, chose Liverpool because it seemed like there was energy there, I'm an artist , musician, I felt like there was quite a bit happening creative wise.
    I got a nice flat next to Crosby beach with Anthony Gormley's statues. So far, so good.
    Except that I'm not doing anything. I have met a singer and talked vaguely about projects but that's about all. Its related to the horrific year I mentioned. I didn't realise how much toll it had taken but I'm seeing it now. Self confidence is a slippery customer at the best of times but right now I can't find any.
    And you need to have that. I underestimated the difficulty of establishing connections in a big city starting from scratch, not knowing anyone. I was just thinking about finding a place to live but that's the easy bit compared to getting out there and meeting people, doing stuff.

A couple of questions
    I have done a couple of open mics so that's a start. It was OK but are there any where its more than just playing acoustic guitars, Where a wider range of performances happen ,Like electronic stuff for instance. Anyone know of somewhere like that at all ?

Beyond open mics I have a full set I'd love to be able to perform, even as a support. Its made up of music, with spoken word , video in various forms and the pieces flow into one another without gaps. I leave space for impro and spontaneity so it is never the same twice, I try to tread a line between experimentalism that doesn't descend into dull repetition and wannabe elitism