GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation). More red tape!

Discussion in 'world politics, current affairs and news' started by nardy, May 12, 2018.

1. nardy

nardy Well-Known Member

This piece of crap (from Europe, where else!) comes in on the 25th of this month. I'd never heard of it until a mate mentioned it. The "point" seems to be to protect the privacy of people who give any information to a business. The business must only use that info for the exact purpose it was intended. It seems to be an extension of the Data Protection Act, but I'm not sure.

I'm a sole trader, and this is a google result.
    https://rapidbi.com/gdpr-checklist-for-sole-traders-and-micro-businesses/

Are there any other sole traders on here who know more about this than me ... which wouldn't be difficult!

2. danny la rouge

danny la rouge Warning: posts may cause vasovagal presyncope

Before I answer, please click here to continue receiving replies.

Liveist, petee, 8ball and 16 others like this.
  3. farmerbarleymow

farmerbarleymow Seagulls and wasps are brilliant!

Basically yeah, with some additional rights for data subjects thrown in to the mix. It is a good thing, although it obviously imposes additional burdens on data controllers (which is a good thing in and of itself).

I'd advise reading the guidance published by the Information Commissioner's Office as that is probably the best initial step if you're concerned about compliance. The first link is for GDPR, the second for the Data Protection Bill. :)

4. Bahnhof Strasse

Bahnhof Strasse Free the Sepsis Six!

It does seem to be pretty much impossible to comply with though. Quite funny seeing all the companies that spam my in box asking for permission to keep spamming me tho.

Ralph Llama, CRI, gentlegreen and 8 others like this.
  5. mrs quoad

mrs quoad Well-Known Member

Are you asking for a list of possibilities, or is this rhetorical?

6. MadeInBedlam

MadeInBedlam Arm the mentally ill