1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Flatshares

Discussion in 'London and the South East' started by Mrs Magpie, Jul 11, 2003.

  1. Boycey

    Boycey juvenile rave slut

    Mia likes this.
  2. LeslieB

    LeslieB Banned Banned

    Is it legal to specify a preference by gender ?

    Loads of places do this BTW, I'm not singling Boycey out.
     
  3. stethoscope

    stethoscope Well-Known Member

    It's not a business/service, so yeah.
     
    LeslieB likes this.
  4. LeslieB

    LeslieB Banned Banned

    Ok. I would have thought it was a service but fair enough if you know different.
     
  5. stethoscope

    stethoscope Well-Known Member

    It's a private advert for a room in a house/flat share. It's not a business/service.
     
    Boycey and LeslieB like this.
  6. Puddy_Tat

    Puddy_Tat lumpen proletaricat

    not sure - there are some bits of equalities law that are different depending on whether you're a business or it's about something in your own home. i'm not sure if this is one. and expressing a 'preference' may be different (in law) from saying 'no X' or 'Y only'

    this is gumtree's line on it

     
    LeslieB likes this.
  7. LeslieB

    LeslieB Banned Banned

    Yes, I can see why letting a room in your own home might be different to a house share with a live out landlord.

    Not that it matters what I think,it's what the law says that matters.

    And again, I'm not singling this ad by Boycey out, it's something I've long wondered.
     
  8. Boycey

    Boycey juvenile rave slut

    Basically we are a large communal warehouse and maintaining a fairly balanced gender mix is A Good Thing IMO. We have three rooms to fill and if we at least get a mix we're all good :)
     
    LeslieB likes this.
  9. Boycey

    Boycey juvenile rave slut

    Inside our house:

     
  10. gioioioi

    gioioioi Well-Known Member

  11. Etymologist

    Etymologist λάθε βιώσας

  12. keithy

    keithy or queefy

    Me and Orang Utan are looking for a new housemate to share our lovely home with. Massive house in SE21 (West Dulwich/Gipsy Hill BR, 15min from Brixton on the bus) with lounge, huge kitchen/diner, massive garden, rayt gudd housemates, THE LOT. Bedroom is the quietest, at the back overlooking garden. Original fireplace, plenty of space for double bed, desk, wardrobe, shelves etc.

    £470pcm + bills. Available from 9th August. Viewings this Sunday and possibly in the week - PM me if interested :)

    Double room in friendly creative HOME
     
  13. haushoch

    haushoch Well-Known Member

    A friend of mine is looking for a flatshare. Somewhere around Crystal Palace, South Norwood, West Norwood, Penge or Sydenham. He can afford to pay £500 / month (and £600 / month at a stretch). He's (a young) 50, a very creative kind of a guy, also very musical - plays the guitar. He's very sociable, a really great cook and loves to talk. He's a smoker, but more than happy not to smoke in the place, and go outside to smoke. He's fully employed.

    He needed to move from his last place at short notice (his girlfriend broke up with him) and has struggled to find a flatshare as most flatshares seem to have a much lower upper age limit, so he's temporarily staying with friends. So he could move pretty much immediately. I think he'd be happy with a short let too as it would give him a bit more breathing space to find something more permanent. He's looking on spareroom mainly, but I thought I'd post on Urban to help.
     
  14. DJWrongspeed

    DJWrongspeed radio eros

    I'm amazed by this very central hostel place. It's almost cheaper to stay here than rent in London.

    Safestay - Holland Park.
     
  15. keithy

    keithy or queefy

    We have a room coming up in our share in gipsy hill, is your friend still looking?
     
  16. haushoch

    haushoch Well-Known Member

    Thanks for getting back to me, your house looks brilliant. :)

    My friend has now gone into a "professional" houseshare, where they only have a shared kitchen and bathroom, but don't really socialise, so he's not really happy there, but it was the best one available at short notice. I think he'd be keen to move out from there, but I'm not sure what the arrangements with the landlord are in terms of notice periods, etc. When is your room coming up? Should I ask my friend to get in touch with you?
     
  17. keithy

    keithy or queefy

    This is the ad: Large double room in friendly creative shared home

    The room is available ASAP basically as we're trying to make sure the vacating housemate doesn't have to pay loads of rent whilst not living here. So technically we need somebody in October but more likely September x
     
  18. Hong

    Hong New Member

    There is a very bid master room available in a private house with three bedroom at Forest Hill. 185 bus to Victoria, 122 to Lewisham shopping centre. 10 minutes walk to the train station. The rent for one person is £600, two £680 all the bill include, please call 07504975207 Ms hong to further information
     
  19. keithy

    keithy or queefy

    Got a great room in our lovely houseshare coming up on 9th March in Gipsy Hill. PM for more infor!
     
  20. Señor Sol

    Señor Sol New Member

    I'm looking for a room somewhere in the Crystal Palace / South Norwood / West Norwood / Gipsy Hill area. I've just had to move as my landlord is selling the house I was renting a room in and I'm now sofa-surfing with friends. I can afford to spend £580 tops. I'm a 51 year old graphic designer, but I'm currently studying to become a TEFL teacher, as I want to move back to Spain where I lived in the mid 90s. I'm creative, musical, love to chat, spend time with my friends, I am a mean cook (especially curry). If you have a room or know anyone who's looking for a flatmate I'd really appreciate it if you could get in touch.
     
  21. Klort

    Klort New Member

    Hello all,

    The lady who organises my badminton club in Flaxman Sport Centre (Camberwell) has a room to rent in her house. She's super nice, really friendly and a really good laugh - very social, always organising BBQs and stuff. She rents rooms out in her house mostly to young foreign students.

    The room is a single room in very friendly household (I've met many of her lodgers as they often end up at badminton club). The area is well served by buses and trains and only 4.5 miles from the City of London and the West End. Loads of amenities in the area, plenty of shops etc. Two leisure centres within walking distance.
     
  22. keithy

    keithy or queefy

    Heads up we have 2 rooms coming up in our house due to people moving away for work. 620 including all bills, large doubles, big house with lots of shared space and massive garden, 2 bathrooms, cute puppy, zone 3 West dulwich/Gipsy hill.

    Message me for more details!
     
  23. Riklet

    Riklet procrastinación

    Anyone moving out of a flat or know of one going anywhere round Brixton or South London in general (clearly I am not a Londoner).

    2 friends of mine are moving to London n looking. The poor buggers. Must be tough going for 1 beds atm.
     

Share This Page