1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Flatshares

Discussion in 'London and the South East' started by Mrs Magpie, Jul 11, 2003.

  1. fakeplasticgirl

    fakeplasticgirl hysterically useless

  2. Badgers

    Badgers Mr Big Shrimp

    Like a zero hours work contract. You get cheap rent but no fixed term and little notice.

    Perks are cheap rent but you have to 'guard' the place. Would need to see the contract but I think you have to be in there a minimum amount of time. You will be CRB checked and if you pass will have to wait for a place. Also you need to move in at short notice or won't get the place.
     
  3. Cami

    Cami New Member

    anyone have a room in pimlico/westminster for 2 weeks? thanks
     
  4. Badgers

    Badgers Mr Big Shrimp

    I doubt anyone on this site will have a room in Pimlico/Westminster for a two week rent.

    There are specialist short let companies (realtors) about. You will find short rents more expensive. Here is a studio flat in SW1 for £575 per week as a short let.

    www.draker.co.uk/lettings/to-rent/westminster/grey-coat-street-westminster-swp-2/1

    For a long term (12 month) rent in SW1 you can expect to pay £350-450 a week rent for a one bedroom flat.
     
  5. Cami

    Cami New Member

    or any areas you would suggest near UCL?
     
  6. equationgirl

    equationgirl I can bend, I can break, I can shift, I can shake

    Have you been in touch with the university accommodation office? There is usually accommodation offered to all those in their first year at uni.
     
  7. 66z

    66z stalker

    Renting out a room in Burnt Oak / Edgware area..

    Details can be found above:
    http://www.urban75.net/forums/threads/flatshares.1567/page-22#post-12362772

    Except we are thinking of renting out reception as well since we don't use it at all.. Therefore rent would go down to £400 for everyone, all bills included as long as everyone's a student. If you're not though, you will be liable of paying council tax at a single occupancy rate (75%) starting from March 2014.
     
  8. stuff_it

    stuff_it Nerd burglar

    Looking for a double room, prefer somewhere in North East or East London. Consider South London and deffo not West.

    Must be as cheap as possble, pref some bills included. I've got fuck all in the way of a deposit though we could possibly raise a bit of one.

    Ideally will have thick walls and/or be separated from the rest of the house or flat by one room or by the shape of the building (due to noisy sex). Apart from the noisy sex we're lovely people to live with, clean, polite, I can cook, and we've decent taste in music. I've no pets atm either.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2013
  9. Puddy_Tat

    Puddy_Tat Meh

    Anyone after a weekday lodger?

    I've recently started a job near Wimbledon, and I can't face the commute from out here in darkest Berkshire much longer, and the commute from mum-tat's in SE London is a pain in the tail as well.

    Broadly speaking, would be looking for something on a weekday-ish basis (I'd probably come back here one night during the week, but it would be nice occasionally to have the option of staying over at the weekend.)

    Incidentally, my understanding is that if it is less than full time, and if lodger has 'main or permanent residence' elsewhere and doesn't register locally with doctors and such, then it doesn't count as a second person for council tax purposes. (I have a lodger like that here, and that's what my local council said.)

    Looking for room with bed not a sofa or anything like that.

    I'm house-trained and that sort of thing, and don't smoke, I'd probably also toddle over to mum-tat's one evening a week, so I wouldn't be around a lot.

    Somewhere with reasonable access to the deep south of the northern line would be ideal - that would include near Southern stations that have a service that goes through Balham.

    Shortish term really - long term I'm thinking about selling up and moving.

    Happy with reasonably informal / short term arrangement rather than getting tied in to 6 months' tenancy sort of thing.
     
  10. Guineveretoo

    Guineveretoo Mostly bewildered

    I have a double room to let in my house which is near Norwood Junction station, so fast trains to London Bridge and not so fast to Clapham Junction.

    I am vegetarian and have three cats, so the person moving in would have to like cats, too, since they are everywhere, and either be vegetarian, or prepared to be sympathetic to my vegetarianism.

    I am looking at a short term let, at least initially.

    I am hoping to get about £700 a month, inclusive of bills, as the let includes use of the house (sitting room and dining room as well as kitchen and bathroom) and garden, so is not just a bedsit. And I need to pay my bills :)
     
  11. Peter James - 2

    Peter James - 2 Cheese gromit?

    How does flat share work? Do you buy together with your flat mates?
     
  12. ddraig

    ddraig dros ben llestri

    no, rent
     
  13. Guineveretoo

    Guineveretoo Mostly bewildered

    My lodger is just moving out - I am about to drop her off at the station, because I am such a nice person :)

    so, the room is available, and i am charging less than I said. I am looking for £590 a month, including bills. Or £140 if you want to pay weekly.
     
  14. Thimble Queen

    Thimble Queen Well-Known Member

    590 pcm in Croydon? :(
     
  15. Guineveretoo

    Guineveretoo Mostly bewildered

    Yes, why?
     
  16. Thimble Queen

    Thimble Queen Well-Known Member

    You would've got a *really* lovely room in brixton for that money a few years ago but not any more. The prices have gone up so much.
     
  17. not-bono-ever

    not-bono-ever Meat Raffle


    Hey- did you ever get sorted for this ?

    cheers
     
  18. Utopia

    Utopia "Jackanackanory"

    'Cos Croydon's a poo hole with very little going for it and £590 is £540 too much to live in a violent, scruffy, cultural vaccuum! ;)



    * Sorry, Croydon's actually delightful, the Hampstead of the south I like to call it
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2014
  19. Puddy_Tat

    Puddy_Tat Meh

    no, still doing the blargh commute thing which hasn't quite killed me yet

    combination of

    general feeling of meh towards the job and there was the possibility of something else which i interviewed for and it took them over a month from saying they wanted to interview me to it happening, then about 3 months to say no (there were funding issues in the background)

    would still need to spend some time at mum-tat's and not sure i can face having 3 places

    the 'lodger' referred to above is and was somewhat more than that if you get my drift ;) and as of may he was about to get moved elsewhere for work, but that didn't happen - although it has done at short notice this week :(
     
    not-bono-ever likes this.
  20. not-bono-ever

    not-bono-ever Meat Raffle

    oh . good luck .I might have been able to help out on this. might...
     
  21. passenger

    passenger up and down...

    looking a a two bed flat, thornton heath, streathem, upper norwoord 900 pounds a month budget
    for my ex partner a my 13 year old son part dss if any sees anything, please let me know
    move asap (a bit of an ask but hey you got to try ) :)
     
  22. friendofdorothy

    friendofdorothy it is so much worse than Thatcherism now

    Did you ever find a lodger? - a good friend of mine, who lives in Amsterdam, is looking for a room in London from April to August.
     
    Greebo likes this.
  23. Guineveretoo

    Guineveretoo Mostly bewildered

    I do currently have a lodger but I'm going to ask him to leave, for several reasons. Tell me about your friend. :)
     
  24. friendofdorothy

    friendofdorothy it is so much worse than Thatcherism now

    PM on its way
     
    Greebo and Guineveretoo like this.
  25. Guineveretoo

    Guineveretoo Mostly bewildered

    Well, it seems that friendofdorothy's friend doesn't want to live in South London, so my room is back on the market, as it were.

    Anyone interested? It is a decent sized room, and £140 a week including bills is a good deal.

    I will only live with women, though.
     
  26. tiny.pilot

    tiny.pilot New Member

    VERY LARGE DOUBLE ROOM in West Dulwich SE218JP, available from 25 June 2015.

    THE HOUSE:
    Grand Victorian terraced house with high ceiling and loads of natural light. It’s got a back garden. There’s enough space for a bicycle in the hallway. You will be sharing the ground floor – including the kitchen and bathroom/WC - with me, another tenant. The kitchen is fitted with all the standard appliances (microwave, oven/fan oven, washing machine, fridge). The bathroom/WC comes with a shower/bath tub, and there is also a separate extra room with a power-shower. The house is enjoyable, warm in the wintertime and quiet. It’s a non-smoking house, nevertheless you are welcome to use the outdoors back garden

    THE ROOM:
    Your room is the front one and in a size of about 20 sq m/216 sq ft with high ceiling and a double-glazed bay window. It’s moderately furnished and contains a spacious built-in double-level wardrobe with mirrors fixed on its doors, a double bed, two chests of drawers, floor lamp and a 3-seater sofa - which still leaves quite a lot of space for you to arrange. There’s also an additional space for storage underneath the bed and on top of the wardrobe. It would be perfect for someone who appreciates privacy as – depending on how you set it up – it can serve as both: bedroom and a day room.

    ME:
    Post mid-thirties female professional. Very clean and tidy, quite private, considerate of others, geeky. Usually keen on socialising, although can come across a wee bit of an introvert at times when I’m busy (nothing personal). Respectful of nature and the environment - not to a devotional level, but I’m trying to do my bit. Interested in music, drawing, DYI, trekking, travelling, healthy living, botany, science discoveries, socially engaged arts.

    YOU:
    · Trustworthy, relaxed and gets on with others.
    · Very clean and tidy.
    · I’m allergic to curry mix, so you need to be ok not to use it

    PHOTOS:
    http://postimg.org/gallery/yv1rkmqg/

    RENT:
    £750 pcm + £750 deposit. Wi-Fi + bills incl. Single occupancy.
     
  27. tiny.pilot

    tiny.pilot New Member

    The room price has not been reduced to £725 pcm. PM if interested.
     
    Mation likes this.
  28. Front Up

    Front Up New Member

    I will be returning to London soon after a while away and was wondering what sort of rents for a room or bedsitter would you be expected to pay in the Wood Green - Palmers Green area these days??
     
  29. TopCat

    TopCat Gone away, no forwarding address

    Looking for a lodger. Preferably a weekday lodger. Double room. Clean small house. Garden. Comes with a london wide free travel pass if you get official ID at my address. Ten mins walk from Morden tube. Rent etc negotiable.
     
    tufty79 likes this.
  30. NickyCrumb

    NickyCrumb New Member

    Hello,
    my name is Nicky and i am looking for double room in Brixton 500-650pcm.I am working as a self employed chef and i am also part time student (last 5 months to go) .I am easy going ,relaxed person who loves food, Hip Hop 70´-Early 90´mainly, Art and independent creative individuals. I am use to living alone or with one more flatmate but i won´t be against funny bunch of flatmates to share a bottle of wine after long day in work or some nice BBQ. P.S: Potentional flatmate/s would be well feeded !
    Thanks for any info or message about rooms.
     

Share This Page