Eltham

Discussion in 'London and the South East' started by red rose, Sep 12, 2005.

1. red rose

red rose Fee-Ai-Esh-See-Oh

It looks as though I'm going to be moving to Eltham in two weeks time. I've just been offered a place in university accommodation there.

Problem is, I'm studying at the Maritime Greenwich campus, so when I looked round, I only looked round that area, I assumed I'd get accommodation there.

I'd never even heard of Eltham until now, any locals want to give me an idea of what it's like, where the local shops are, what the public transport is like?

2. gawkrodger

gawkrodger Well-Known Member

didn't stephen lawrence get killed there?

that's as far as my knowledge extends i'm afraid

3. Belushi

Belushi 01 811 8055 R.I.P.

I take it you'll be at the student village at Avery Hill? The Uni will have buses runnning from there to the Maritime Greenwich Campus.

The student village itself is nice enough, it was only built about 10 years ago. Its a bit cut off from the rest of London I'm afraid, its a bus ride away from Eltham station which is about 25 minutes into town. Eltham itself is a white, working class suburb with a bog standard high street and very little to sttract students.

4. flimsier

flimsier Banned Banned

I taught at the big Comprehensive there a few years back.

Fairly leafy in parts, fairly dull. Just down the road from Welling; the Lawrence killers were from there (3 went to forementioned school).

Normal high st. Nothing of note. Couple of nice pubs. Regular train service.

Avery Hill Campus of your uni is there.

5. silentNate

silentNate 1.618 xakep

Poor white working-class area where Stephen Lawrence was killed :(
    Probably good for cheap food and beer though :)

6. flimsier

flimsier Banned Banned

Avery Hill is walkable from Falconwood station.

Isn't it?

7. marty21

marty21 One on one? You're crazy.

i studied at avery hill in 94/5, i didn't live around there, i came from hackney every day