DELTA and general career progression in TEFL

Discussion in 'education & employment' started by miss direct, Mar 7, 2014.

1. miss direct

miss direct misfungled

I've been teaching English in Turkey for the last five years and in the last year have started thinking about my future. Not sure if it'll be in Turkey or elsewhere, but I'd like to be in a position where I'd be able to move back to the UK and get a job there if I want/need to.

I've been thinking about getting into teacher training, or material development, but am not too sure where to start. I gave a workshop at my university's training week and I've also trained and work as a Cambridge speaking examiner.

It seems like the next logical step is a DELTA. I'm just not sure about it. Does anyone have this qualification and can share some information about the reality of doing it? I teach 22 hours a week but have three months off in the summer. I believe I can do quite a bit of the Delta online, though the same place I did my CELTA.

Any other suggestions about where I can go next? It seems like to teach in the UK I would need to go to university again, which really isn't an option.

2. Hellsbells

Hellsbells World's best procrastinator

yes unfortunatley most teaching related work in the Uk requires a PGCE these days.
    If anyone has any info/advice etc about material development, I would also be interested to hear though. I've come to the realisation that due to lack of confidence & anxiety I'm never likely to overcome, delivering & presenting to a class is something I'm never going to be that good at, but I know I can research and prepare really good lesson materials - is there a job market for this?

3. Cid

Cid 慢慢走

You sure it's not an option going back to uni? Funding possibilities here. It's a year full time...

Greebo likes this.
  4. Sweet FA

Sweet FA ✪ Three rounds Lord, in my .44 ✪