1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question Decent premium pocketable cameras

Discussion in 'photography, graphics & art' started by kazza007, Feb 12, 2018 at 9:43 AM.

1. kazza007

kazza007 Bunned

Hello urbanites
    I'm looking again for a half Decent pocketable camera. I'm a holiday photographer and learner, mainly point and shoot or sometimes venturing into semi manual. I've always wanted to learn, but get lazy.
    The last few trips I've ditched my panny gx7 (which I got to replace a dslr) and used my Nexus 6p phone, which took excellent pics
    Though tempted to stick with that, I want to give a proper camera a go to learn

Happy with second hand, and I had an s90 about ten years ago.

So thinking of an s120 for a pocketable premium. I know I'll have to forgo a vf, but any other options?

T I A

2. editor

editor Taffus Maximus

For me there's only one pocketable premium compact: the Ricoh GR, but the earlier (i.e. cheaper) versions of the Sony RX100 are excellent too.

kazza007 likes this.
  3. kazza007

kazza007 Bunned

I could sell my gx7 to get a Ricoh gr. Is it still decent to later models given it's age? I don't really want to fork out extra for later models which get quite pricey for an on/off hobbyist, but could sell my gx7 for a gr.
    I've thought about richoh gr before, but Don't know if fixed lens an issue...like if I want to zoom in a bit from a distant landscape shot. I don't really do portrait...just holiday stuff... though maybe this type of thing will get me using it more in different situations.
    Definitely seems to fit pocket and premium

4. Crispy

Crispy The following psytrance is baŠĻČned: All

We bought a new camera last year. This one: Travel Camera | DMC-TZ100EB | Panasonic UK & Ireland