Choosing, and sourcing, a DSLR?

Discussion in 'photography, graphics & art' started by alphaDelta, Feb 19, 2005.

1. alphaDelta

alphaDelta ◘◘\«ˆ»/◘◘

Hiya,

I've saved up at least a couple of euros now and I'm looking - not immediately but fairly soon - to get myself a DSLR. I originally thought I'd go full whack for the EOS 20D but then considered that maybe this is a little silly. I still don't quite know. I'm an amateur with a very average digital compact at the mo. However, regardless of how much I spend, I will only be spending it once; I would rather pay more and really get what I eventually need, than make a wrong decision which I can't undo.

So first of all, should I plump for my original target of the 20D (£1100ish), or go for something a little more sensible, such as my favourite in this range, the Nikon D70 (£700ish)?

Then, where to get it? My instinct says eBay; I know that may be alarming for some, but it worked out OK for the laptop I'm on now, and the various phones and walkmans I've mashed my way through. Any better ideas or urgent "nooo!" warnings?

Otherwise, I've seen - for example only, and I certainly won't be bidding on this specific item - this listing; what do you make of that (apart from that fact it's the wrong picture)?

So many questions, I'm sorry :oops:

Cheers!

2. General Ludd

General Ludd Banned Banned

I'd go for the D70 personally, it doesn't really sound like you need the extra power of the 20D and the £400 you save would allow you to buy 2 of an really good tripod, a good flash (I love the SB 800) and an extra lenses, all of which I think you'd find more useful.

Dubious about ebay though, I like having proper warranties when spending that much money.

3. editor

editor hiraethified

D70 should be ample for all but the most demanding of needs. And you'd be mad to buy it off e-bay. Buy it from a decent dealer who'll give you support if you have probs later,

4. alphaDelta