Car insurance question

Discussion in 'transport' started by colacubes, Feb 27, 2018.

1. colacubes

colacubes Well-Known Member

So it looks like I'm getting a car in a couple of weeks :thumbs:

I haven't owned a car myself for 15 odd years so obviously have no No Claims Discount. However, just looking at insurance quotes on a comparison site it's asking whether I was a named driver on any car and if so, how many years claim free driving I have. I've been a member of Zipcar for the best part of 10 years and no claims in that time. However, I can't seem to find any info on whether that would count for the purposes of named driver? Has anyone had any experience of this? It seems to make a saving of about £90 per year if I could use this, but it's massively unclear whether I can.

Any advice or experience welcome!

2. teuchter

teuchter je suis teuchter

Am I allowed to ask why you're getting a car?

3. kabbes

kabbes "A top 400 poster"

Why do you want to know?

urbanspaceman likes this.
  4. mauvais

mauvais change has become unavoidable

I doubt it, but I don't know much about Zipcar. Have you continuously held some sort of insurance policy with them?

Named drivers are normally when someone else (e.g. your partner) is the policyholder on a usually 12-month long insurance policy, and you are named on that policy as an insured person who can drive the car.

Really only your prospective insurer can answer this for you. Give them a ring.

colacubes likes this.
  5. Spymaster

Spymaster Cockney Wanker

It won't count towards any NCB that I'm aware of.

When you use Zipcar it isn't really you that is insured, it's Zipcar. It's like hiring a car. There may be insurers who'll give you a small credit but It's not usual. Best to call a broker.

colacubes likes this.
  6. colacubes