*Brixton flatshare thread

Discussion in 'Brixton' started by haushoch, Aug 13, 2004.

  1. fortyplus

    fortyplus smug git

    After the olympics it should be easier. Lots of flatsharing websites, spareroom.co.uk is one of the best, you can do lots of research before you come. If you stick to it you should find a flatshare in a few days' searching, but you have to be in London to do it because you must meet your new flatmates face to face. Couchsurf or arrange to stay on a friend's floor for your search. Then be systematic; book in three viewings every night, trudge round, judge a place first on the people, second on the location (walk to/from the tube), third the amenities. No point in an ensuite bathroom if your housemates are tossers and you don't feel safe walking back from the tube at night.

    It will be cheaper than renting a flat, but it won't be cheap anywhere in London.
     
    Cheesypoof likes this.
  2. snowy_again

    snowy_again Slush

    And beware of landlord scams asking for advance deposits...
     
  3. asami

    asami New Member

    Thanking you for this good information. I will not be coming to London until my job in France finishes. I have three months more to work then I will see my family in Osaka for a few weeks. London is cheaper than Japan!
     
  4. asami

    asami New Member

    I do not understand what this means.
     
  5. snowy_again

    snowy_again Slush

    Sorry, I wasn't being very clear - some sites like Gumtree have fraudulent advertisers offering too good to be true deals on property for rent. They then request a deposit prior to you signing any contract and then disappear, leaving you with no money and no flat.
     
  6. Brixton Hatter

    Brixton Hatter Home is south London mate

    WWW.MOVEFLAT.COM is good for finding houses/flats to share in London :)
     
    Cheesypoof likes this.
  7. Cheesypoof

    Cheesypoof Fuck off Noddy Banned

    Hi there, Im looking for a room/ flatshare with one ideally from start of September (but pretty flexible about dates)

    Also flexible about location - but darn sarf Brixton/ Tulse Hill/ etc perfect. I start a new job on August 23rd so would like to have this organised before then. Feel free to PM me, really appreciate people's help. Thanks.:)
     
  8. PartyThyme

    PartyThyme New Member

    Hi all, I have a room available in a 3 bed ground floor flat on Leander Road. It's not a huge room but has a double bed, wardrobe, drawers etc. All mod cons, 2 lovely flatmates boy and girl early 31 and 27. Recently done up and has a back decked area with table and chairs and bbq. Rent is 550 and bills are about 80 quid a month. PM me if interested! It will be available anytime from now, I just need to move out by October and have a place to stay as soon as I get someone to move in :)
     
  9. Badgers

    Badgers Mr Big Shrimp!

    Friend from work looking for a house/flat share in Brixton.

    Double room
    Budget is £500 inc bills

    Top lass and good company. Drop me a pm if you have or know of a room and I will put you in touch.

    :)
     
  10. tendril

    tendril Leave your money on the dresser

    SW2 Brixton/Tulse Hill area: A very large, sunny, unfurnished double bedroom (well, has a bookcase, pc table and bedside cabinet, but will need bed and storage furniture) available to rent in a quiet relaxed tidy house with lovely garden. Sharing with two professionals (1M/1F) and large soppy cat. Would suit a single professional 35+. Sorry, no DHSS. Very close to Brockwell Park. Easy transport links. We are very much not party people (anymore) ;)

    Available from 6th September 2012. £475 pcm plus bills of approximately £105 pcm to include council tax, utilities, broadband/wifi and Sky tv. 6 weeks deposit and references required.
     
  11. RAAAHH

    RAAAHH Well-Known Member


    Me and my friend Emma are looking for a 2 bedroom flat to rent or more people to rent a bigger house with in Brixton. If you are somebody who has a flat, is looking for a houseshare or knows anyone that might be interested get in touch. Our maximum budget is £550pcm each and we need to move on the 1st of September.

    We are sociable and looking for other friends or new friends to make a home with. We are not after a party house but somewhere chilled to come home too.Thanks :)
     
  12. Sherlock51

    Sherlock51 Well-Known Member

    Hi there.
    Is this still available? Totally interested if you're cool with couples x
     
  13. tendril

    tendril Leave your money on the dresser

    Unfortunately we're looking for a single person. So sorry and best of luck. Btw, try www.spareroom.co.uk, plenty of rooms available on there.
     
  14. Sherlock51

    Sherlock51 Well-Known Member

    No probs dude. Cheers anyway :) x
     
  15. MillyMollyMandy

    MillyMollyMandy New Member

    Hello,
    There are 2 (double) bedrooms available in the flat I live in on the Brixton/Streatham Hill border. I've put an ad on MoveFlat here - with pictures (although we've redecorated a bit since the photos were taken so it's nicer now)
    http://www.moveflat.com/c/402598.htm
    If you might be interested, or know anyone who might be, please do get in touch :)
    Thanks!
    Milly
     
  16. Badgers

    Badgers Mr Big Shrimp!

    The link is dead
     
  17. Chilavert

    Chilavert Undermining strikes :-(

    You live upstairs from a friend of mine...
     
  18. MillyMollyMandy

    MillyMollyMandy New Member

  19. DarkFairy7

    DarkFairy7 New Member

    Thirty-something- year old female, language, politics and current affairs geek, keen cyclist- without the lycra- and lover of good food and wine is looking for a room in a pleasant household in Brixton or surrounding area (SW2, SW9, SE24). Preferably with outdoor space and a place where I can store my bike.
    I am sociable, open-minded and independent. If you have or know of anything suitable- my budget is £600 p/m including bills- I would love to hear from you. Find my ad on Gumtree.
    http://www.gumtree.com/p/flats-hous...d-current-affairs-geek-needs-a-home/111117204
     
  20. Helen CF

    Helen CF Member

    Anyone know of a cheap house to rent - landlord has announced he is moving back in next month :(

    Looking for a 4 bed house in South London for £2000 max. We have lived in Brixton, Tulse, Herne and Denmark Hill/Camberwell but might have to move further afield if we can't find somewhere cheap.... Ideally private landlord. Any leads/good places to look? There are four of us plus a cat and millions of bikes, and we might be looking for another girl to balance out the house. We are great at fixing stuff and doing gardens so no trouble at all.
     
  21. zenie

    zenie >^^<

    Looking for a room....:)
     
  22. TopCat

    TopCat Zap it!

    Looking for a 1/2 bedroom flat. :)
     
  23. tendril

    tendril Leave your money on the dresser

    a half bedroom flat :confused: :D
     
    fogbat and Rushy like this.
  24. Badgers

    Badgers Mr Big Shrimp!

    There goes the neighbourhood :D
     
    Thimble Queen likes this.
  25. TopCat

    TopCat Zap it!

    My syntax has been less clear after 9 months "abroad"..
     
    tendril likes this.
  26. Davidoff

    Davidoff New Member

    Hi, my flatmate is moving out, leaving a lovely reasonably sized room going in a two story flat on Brixton Hill. Ten minute walk from Brixton tube. The house was unfurnished but I've furnished it myself. The room has everything but a bed, which my housemate would happily sell. Rent is £450 a month which doesn't include bills, which come to £125 each a month. There's a bills account we pay direct debits into each month.

    You'd be sharing with one guy. I'm 28 and run a small production company in Brixton. I've lived in Brixton for 5 years. I'm tidy and friendly. I like reading, cooking, socialising, going out to see music and watching films.

    It would be good to find a housemate who is a similar age and has any common interests. The flat is on a quiet street only a little up the hill on Hayter Road.

    The full advert with pics is on spareroom - http://www.spareroom.co.uk/flatshare/flatshare_detail.pl?flatshare_id=2349544

    DM me on here or contact me by spareroom if you're interested. I'd prefer to do viewings are on monday of next week. Cheers,

    Dave
     
  27. anusw9

    anusw9 Member

    Hi everyone. Trying to help my friend find a tenant/s for her flat on Brixton Hill. It's a stunning, spacious, 2 bedroom, fully furnished, brand new build flat with superb views of Brixton Hill.
    Private landlord. Available from 25th Nov 2012. Minimum term - 6 months.
    Two good sized double bedrooms with built-in wardrobes, one with ensuite. Large, bright, open plan living room/kitchen/dining. Good sized bathroom with bath/shower. Small annex off living area which could sleep guest/s.
    Excellent transport links. 10 minute walk to Brixton Tube Station. 15 minute walk to Herne Hill station (direct city line). Bus stop a minute away serving Central London, East London and Croydon.
    Local Sainsburys on ground floor. 24/7 corner shop nearby. Brockwell Park is only a 5min walk away..
    Rent is £1600 pcm for the property, not including utilies. Utilities are £210 pcm (gas, electric, water, council tax - phone/internet not included)
    Full advert with photos are available on spareroom http://www.spareroom.co.uk/flatshare/flatshare_detail.pl?flatshare_id=2500026
    and easyroommate http://uk.easyroommate.com/content/common/listingdetail.aspx?code=H121030131557740

    Please message me directly on here or contact Julia through spareroom or easyroommate. Thanks...
     
  28. Badgers

    Badgers Mr Big Shrimp!

    £1600pcm? Bit rich...
     
  29. quimcunx

    quimcunx protestant traybake

    The 'No DSS' is a rather redundant person specification at that price.
     
  30. colacubes

    colacubes Well-Known Member

    Jesus! £1600 pcm (minus bills) and a £2400 deposit. That's absolutely outrageous :eek: And as Quimmy says, the no DSS becomes pretty fucking obvious at that price :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice