Best way to select/prune from multiple photos

Discussion in 'photography, graphics & art' started by teuchter, Nov 28, 2018.

1. teuchter

teuchter je suis teuchter

Selecting the best shots when you've taken loads. The ones you want to keep and do the final editing on.

At the moment I only have messy/inconsistent ways of doing this.

(I'm on mac)

I might open the lot in Preview or even just look at them in the Finder, go through them and take a note of the ones I want to keep.

I might open a bunch in my photo editing software, and then gradually close the ones that are duds until I'm left with the ones I want to keep.

I'm aware there's various software that people use for this, but most of it seems overkill for me. These applications as far as I can see are mostly designed to open RAW images and then pass selected ones on to a photo editor.

I'm not a professional photographer (although I do take quite a lot of photos); this is not a process I need to do all that often. I don't want to invest time in learning a complicated/expensive application. Usually my photos are already JPGs. I also don't want to be tied into some kind of database managed by specific software. I'd like to continue organising photos into a straightforward folder structure.

Is there a relatively simple way to do what I want to do, efficiently?

2. FridgeMagnet

FridgeMagnet Administrator

Practically speaking I just go through them and delete the ones I don’t want. Usually I do more than one run, to make it easier: obviously ruined shots first, then duplicates, then ones which are just pointless or could have been good but have flaws, then ones that I won’t care about in a few years’ time (usually any post happens before this stage). But the mechanism is literally just arrow keys and the delete button, in the Finder or Photos or wherever.

I don’t hold with keeping photos you don’t want “just in case”.

brixtonblade likes this.
  3. teuchter