Audio PC build advice

Discussion in 'music, bands, clubs & festies' started by ska invita, Jan 4, 2018.

1. ska invita

ska invita back on the other side

I'm planning on building a new PC for music production....still using an old XP machine and its time to move on I think.

Any tips welcome, but particularly about soundcard advice. I only need one XLR microphone input...anything else is a bit extra.

Thoughts? Its years since ive done this, not sure where to start

(has the old music production subforum gone? I hadn't noticed)

2. souljacker

souljacker Those tapas loving FUCKS

Obv depends on your budget. My budget is low so personally, I'd go for an external sound card, probably a focusrite 2i4, if I was buying right now. I've also got some nice cheap Mackie CR3s for monitor speakers. Not really pro standard but then I'm not a pro.

Also, make sure your fans are quiet ones. Nothing fucks up a recording more than a whiny PC in the background.

ska invita likes this.
  3. ska invita

thanks, that focusrite looks like just the kind of thing i need :thumbs: infact the 2i2 would do me

do i need a special soundcard for the PC though?

4. Magnus McGinty

Magnus McGinty Wh♂️

moody likes this.
  5. Magnus McGinty

Magnus McGinty Wh♂️

Just realised I’ve just repeated someone else’s advice :facepalm:

6. elbows

elbows WoeTimer

The focusrite is the soundcard, and works with windows and macos.

Term soundacrd a bit out of date due to this general move to external audio interfaces. USB wasnt amazing when this trend first emerged so pro audio interfaces often used firewire but those days are long gone, USB is more than good enough now.

SpookyFrank and ska invita like this.
  7. ska invita

:thumbs::thumbs:
    excellent stuff thanks
    yeah 2i2 looks plenty good for me

8. Magnus McGinty

Magnus McGinty Wh♂️

I own one and can vouch that they’re fine.

ska invita likes this.
  9. xenon

xenon Carne Por la Machina