1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wing chun or Tai Chi?

Discussion in 'football' started by miss giggles, Sep 15, 2005.

1. miss giggles

miss giggles an unknown quantity...

I've decided I would really like to learn a martial art. I've narrowed it down to wing chun and tai chi. Now I know one is a variation of the other, but I don't know which one to start with. Any martial artists out there who could give me any advice? I'm a total novice!

2. panchax

panchax Well-Known Member

I did wing chun for a year or so with a well respected organistation and it was crap. Very stylised and never felt powerful enough to be any help in a punch up, I would reccomend doing something more practical like muay thai or krav maga if you want to be able to defend yourself

3. the B

the B Sorry

Better WT (WC) than Tai Chi for self defense...

Muay Thai and Krav Maga very handy though :cool:

Where is Bernie Gunther....

4. perplexis

perplexis A change of scene, a change of style....

Hmm, I do WT (and therefore think it's better than WC), and I reckon it's great. The principles are very very applicable to fighting from the first off, but I may be lucky in that I have great teachers. Could bang on about it at length, I won't but PM me if you want to know more.

5. Red Faction

Red Faction Allez Les Rouges

tai chi isnt really about self defence as such
    its more about feeling the energy than about kicking someones face in

6. onemonkey

onemonkey winmonkey

with t'ai chi it takes about 15 years before you can use it for self-defence.. (at least at the rate i am going)..

it is very cool though.. if you find the right teacher.. a lot of them don't teach it as martial art at all and treat it in a more hand-waving new age way

WC will get you fitter in short run but tai chi is for life

7. Virtual Blue

Virtual Blue Well-Known Member