1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Learning pitch by heart?

Discussion in 'music making & live music' started by Prince Bert, Apr 8, 2012.

1. Prince Bert

Prince Bert Banned Banned

Is this even possible? I have been playing an instrument on and off for about fifteen years, but still find it very difficult to listen to a piece of music and play the same notes without any other reference. If the tune is slow enough and I have heard it many times it will eventually get to the point where I have the tune in my head and can mess around with the instrument and manage to play the tune (eventually) - some are easier than others.

Anyway, I have never learned music by grades or anything like that. Is this an actual discipline that has to be learned to get your graded qualifications? I have seen teenagers playing stuff by ear quite impressively on Youtube and they don't seem to have perfect pitch. Even if they get a few notes wrong it is still impressive to me.

I also came across a music teacher a few years back who was able to discern the pitch of certain notes I was playing even when they were played quite fast and in an unusual rhythm. There must be many benefits to this as a musician, and more so if you want to learn to improvise.

2. SpookyFrank

SpookyFrank Bound for glory

I wonder about this too. Sometimes I find that whilst I don't know what note is playing, if I play a note on my guitar without thinking too hard it'll quite often be the right one. I can pick out some simple melodies and chord patterns by ear but it tends to be a pretty laborious process.

I don't know if you can learn to do it perfectly but the more I learn about scales, music theory and the way songs and melodies are constructed the easier it gets to play tune by ear. I don't necessarily have to think about that sort of stuff while playing, but knowing it seems to improve my instincts if that makes any sense.