1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Got a new pair of Doc Marten's yesterday

Discussion in 'threads and dreads' started by Idris2002, Sep 15, 2010.

1. Idris2002

Idris2002 The Wing of Zock, representing HOPE

Yesterday I got a new pair of DMs, for the first time in three years.

Have they changed their specs for manufacturing these things? I'm not feeling anything like the traditional HELLISH PAIN you're supposed to get when breaking in a pair of these bad boys.

Also, I take a size 11 shoe or boot, I have done for years - these are size 11, yet they feel a bit loose, especially in the heel area. What's up with that?

2. Idris2002

[​IMG]

3. WouldBe

WouldBe non smoking

I can't recall ever having "hellish pain" while breaking in docs and I've been wearing them for 33 years. :)

Just enjoy them.

4. killer b

killer b Cute, in a stupid-ass way

they moved production to china a few years ago - possibly some of the spec changed then?

5. Throbbing Angel

Throbbing Angel MCU, MA in CW fwiw, NWUK

this^^^

plus, I only ever got pain from the black ones - I have had ketchup coloured ones (not cherry reds) and they were soft soft soft from day 1

6. WouldBe

WouldBe non smoking

Production is split between China and Thailand. My steelies come from China while the 14 holers come from Thailand.

7. DotCommunist

DotCommunist virtue without terror is impotent.

They moved the textile production. The stitching is still done here iirc.

And docs have always been a pain to break in.

8. marty21

marty21 insidious agendas everywhere

I tend to buy the soft leather ones now - so the pain of wearing them in is not as much as the trad doc boots