1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does this look right? I've plumbed a washing machine outlet with non-return valve

Discussion in 'suburban75' started by Minnie_the_Minx, Sep 18, 2010.

1. Minnie_the_Minx

Minnie_the_Minx purves grundy - definitely a bloke

into kitchen sink waste pipe, and I just want to check that it looks right as I've never done anything to do with pipes before.

Don't want to get new washing machine only to discover I've bodged the job and start flooding the kitchen :oops:

Attached Files:

2. bi0boy

bi0boy .

It looks like you just tucked the end of the waste hose between the waste pipe and the wall. :D

3. Minnie_the_Minx

I did

You're not supposed to be looking at that:mad:, you're supposed to be looking at the new white bit of plastic on that long waste pipe that's running along the wall. ;)

4. bi0boy

bi0boy .

Oh, seems ok, but don't you want a U-bend?

5. Minnie_the_Minx

erm no.

I hope not. The water will go out from washing machine hose and into that long pipe won't it and that long pipe is the waste pipe from the sink

you're getting me worried I've put it in the wrong place now :confused::(

PS: A u-bend didn't come with the kit

6. bi0boy

bi0boy .

I've always put them into the sink waste before the U-bend, rather than after, like this:

[​IMG]

But I haven't had a non-return valve, maybe it doesn't matter if you have one.

7. Minnie_the_Minx

Yeah, he offered me a u-bend thingy but it didn't have non-return valve so picked the other kit.

Guy in the shop didn't mention anything about a u-bend, but then he also forgot to give me a 1.5 inch cap to cape that pipe off that you see above the bucket

8. Minnie_the_Minx